1. Home
  2. Board

There are eight members of the Board of Pharmacy, appointed by the governor for three-year terms. These appointments are subject to reappointment, for a total of nine years. The Board is comprised of five pharmacist members, two public members and one technician member. The Board is responsible for regulating the practice of pharmacy and the legal distribution and dispensing of prescription drugs and precursor substances throughout Iowa.  The responsibilities include, but are not limited to, licensing, renewal, and discipline of pharmacists, pharmacies, drug wholesalers, pharmacist-interns, pharmacy technicians, pharmacy support persons, and persons or businesses involved in the distribution of controlled substances in Iowa, and continuing education for pharmacists.