PHARMACY CLOSING PROCEDURES CHECKLIST*


	PHARMACY NAME
	

	ADDRESS
	

	CITY/ZIP
	

	PHARMACY LICENSE NO.
	

	CSA REGISTRATION NO.
	

	DEA REGISTRATION NO.
	

	PHARMACIST IN CHARGE
	

	CLOSING/SALE DATE
	


Notify the Iowa Board of Pharmacy in writing at least 30 days prior to the close or sale of the pharmacy.  The written notification to IBOP shall include the following information:


Date Completed

	The closing pharmacy name, address, license number, anticipated sold or closing date 
	

	The DEA number of the closing pharmacy
	

	The Iowa Controlled Substance Act registration number (CSA) of the closing pharmacy
	

	The name and address, license number, DEA number, and Iowa CSA number of the pharmacy or pharmacies to which prescription drugs, prescription files, patient profiles, and controlled substance receipt and disbursement records will be transferred and maintained
	


Notify the DEA (Drug Enforcement Administration) in writing at least 30 days prior to the close or sale of the pharmacy.

                                                            



Date Completed
  
	Refer to the St. Louis, MO, DEA website for notification procedures and cancellation of 222 Forms and CSOS authorizations: http://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/offices_n_dirs/fielddiv/stlouis.htm 
	


Notify all patients by direct mail or personal delivery (to each patient with records of prescriptions filled by the closing/sold pharmacy within the past 18 months) at least 30 days prior to the pharmacy closing date and post a clearly visible public notice within the same period.  The closing pharmacy’s notice to the pharmacy’s patients shall include the following:             







Date Completed                                                                                                        
	The anticipated closing date of the closing/sale of the pharmacy
	

	The identity of the pharmacy receiving the patient prescriptions and records
	

	Advise patients that they should contact the pharmacy prior to closing with any questions about their prescriptions and records.
	

	Notify patients that following the pharmacy closing, patients should contact the pharmacy to which prescriptions and records have been transferred with any questions or refill requests.
	


Notification to the PIC (Pharmacist in Charge) of the closing/sold pharmacy at least 40 days in advance of the closing/sale date and notify the PIC of the purchasing pharmacy at least 30 days in advance of the closing/sale date.             
                  








Date Completed

	Notification to PIC-closed or sold pharmacy
	

	Notification to PIC-purchasing pharmacy
	


Inventory requirements for closing or sold pharmacy to be completed at the close of business, including transfer, destruction, and disposal of prescription drugs:                     



 Date Completed
	A Complete inventory of all prescription drugs according to the requirements set forth in 

subrule 8.35(7)(e) and rule 657—10.35(124,155A)
	


Return of licenses, registrations, and forms to respective agencies:                               

Date Completed

	Return of closed pharmacy’s license to IBOP within 10 days of closing
	

	Return of closed pharmacy’s Iowa CSA registration certificate to IBOP within 10 days of closing
	

	Remove or cover signs identifying closed location as a pharmacy within 10 days of closing
	

	Return of closed pharmacy’s DEA registration certificate and all unused DEA Forms 222 to the DEA within 10 days of closing
	

	Cancellation of closed pharmacy’s DEA CSOS authorizations within 10 days of closing
	


* This checklist is intended to assist pharmacies with closing procedures and timelines but is not intended to be a complete listing of the requirements or procedures for closing or selling a pharmacy. 
PLEASE REFER TO THE IOWA PHARMACY LAWS ONLINE CHAPTER 8, RULE 657—8.35(155A) at https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/IAC/LINC/12-12-2012.Rule.657.8.35.pdf  
